Every time you step into your vehicle you expose yourself to the risks that come with driving. There are the unavoidable hazards such road conditions and weather, along with the more unpredictable hazards of the other vehicles (and their drivers) that you share the road with.
Although there are potential risks every time you step into your vehicle, there are certain things you can do to avoid exposing yourself to road hazards. You can stay inside when the weather is bad, especially during major weather events such as hurricanes and floods. You can also avoid driving on streets that you know are littered with potholes and other damage. Unfortunately, we can’t plan for the frequent, sudden storms that seem to appear out of nowhere in Florida, and we definitely can’t be prepared for the actions of other drivers. Because of these unavoidable risks, Florida requires all residents to have an auto insurance plan to make sure that both the driver and the vehicle are protected in case your car is damaged due to an accident or other events.
Florida requires all residents and their vehicles to maintain a certain minimum level of auto insurance. Every vehicle must be registered and insured at all times, even if you are just a seasonal resident. If you fail to keep your vehicle insured and registered, your insurance agency will report that lapse in coverage to the state. This failure will result in fines and having your driving privileges revoked until your insurance is reinstated.
Minimum auto insurance requirements in Florida
The State of Florida has minimum liability coverage requirements that must be in place at all times for each driver and vehicle registered in Florida. The two types of Florida liability coverage requirements are personal injury and property damage coverage. The minimum coverage for both personal injury protection and property damage protection is $10,000. Florida also requires that each policy holder carries bodily injury liability in the amount of $125,000, damage liability in the amount of $250,000, and property damage coverage in the amount of $50,000. When choosing how much insurance coverage you would like to have, you should also take into account that Florida is a no fault state, which means that no matter who is at fault in an accident, your insurance provider will be the one paying for any damages to your vehicle up to your policy limits.
Understanding Florida’s auto insurance requirements is the first step in figuring out what auto insurance policy is right for you and your vehicle. Be sure to speak with an insurance agent whom can help you find an appropriate auto insurance policy that fits your needs, while also making sure that policy falls into the state’s minimum requirements.